Set the autoconf version from git.
authorRalph Giles <giles@mozilla.com>
Mon, 1 Oct 2012 18:30:41 +0000 (11:30 -0700)
committerRalph Giles <giles@mozilla.com>
Tue, 23 Oct 2012 23:07:51 +0000 (16:07 -0700)
commitcfd4e2c311e17bae644372f6c87da24446bf09f7
tree5f7d9cbba08fa36771f446ec7454654529d1d991
parent853393be655b83b4ca09cea672477d0e19dfa125
Set the autoconf version from git.

AC_INIT requires that the version string passed in be 'static'
so we can't use the output of a shell invocation. However, it
can be computed by an m4 shell invocation. This is what autoconf
itself does to embed its git version number in PACKAGE_VERSION.

Doing this necessitates the 'echo -n' in git-version.sh. Make
is smart enough to strip the trailing newline, but AC_INIT is
not. We must also add -f to autoreconf. Otherwise, autogen.sh
will only update configure when configure.ac changes, even if
the output of git-version.sh has changed.

This is still not ideal, since it runs at autogen.sh time, not
at 'make' time, which is what we want. This seems to be a limitation
of an upcoming automake release, which removes the old style
with PACKAGE and VERSION set by shell variables.
autogen.sh
configure.ac
doc/git-version.sh