Print a useful error when pkg-config is missing
authorTimothy B. Terriberry <tterribe@xiph.org>
Tue, 1 Aug 2017 23:49:32 +0000 (16:49 -0700)
committerTimothy B. Terriberry <tterribe@xiph.org>
Wed, 2 Aug 2017 00:12:31 +0000 (17:12 -0700)
commit2521a7d81c40ea83e568a7085e717228932832a3
tree7a26443b70f5ee4c6c6ad2bffb8325c4bb0c5ad0
parentc59d42b6fb4bb2b7e8c7debfa816e2641fd998b6
Print a useful error when pkg-config is missing

Without this check, the PKG_CHECK_MODULES() macro remains
unexpanded, which gives a syntax error when the shell reaches that
point in the configure script, even for checks which are disabled
(e.g., the OpenSSL check when using --disable-http).

Instead, explicitly check for pkg-config and give the user useful
advice on how to solve the problem if it's not found.

Thanks to eXpl0it3r for reporting a problem for which installing
pkg-config turned out to be the solution.
configure.ac