Document HAVE_LRINTF in the draft Makefile.
authorRalph Giles <giles@mozilla.com>
Mon, 25 Jul 2011 20:26:57 +0000 (13:26 -0700)
committerJean-Marc Valin <jean-marc.valin@usherbrooke.ca>
Mon, 25 Jul 2011 20:57:14 +0000 (16:57 -0400)
I've changed the grouping of the options to place the performance-
related ones after the more serious thread-safety options. This
is still somewhat confusing as with C99 on wants -DHAVE_LRINTF
but NOT -Drestrict=

I've also added leading whitespace to the comment lines to better
distinguish them from the commented-out code lines.

Makefile.draft

index 20b178c..2ee921f 100644 (file)
@@ -1,18 +1,21 @@
 #################### COMPILE OPTIONS #######################
 
 #################### COMPILE OPTIONS #######################
 
-#Uncomment this for fixed-point build
+# Uncomment this for fixed-point build
 #FIXED_POINT=1
 
 #FIXED_POINT=1
 
-#If you have a C99 compiler, you don't need this
-CFLAGS += -Drestrict= 
-
-#It is strongly recommended to uncomment one of these
-#VAR_ARRAYS: Use C99 variable-length arrays for stack allocation
-#USE_ALLOCA: Use alloca() for stack allocation
-#If none is defined, then the fallback is a non-threadsafe global array
+# It is strongly recommended to uncomment one of these
+# VAR_ARRAYS: Use C99 variable-length arrays for stack allocation
+# USE_ALLOCA: Use alloca() for stack allocation
+# If none is defined, then the fallback is a non-threadsafe global array
 #CFLAGS += -DUSE_ALLOCA
 #CFLAGS += -DVAR_ARRAYS
 
 #CFLAGS += -DUSE_ALLOCA
 #CFLAGS += -DVAR_ARRAYS
 
+# These options affect performance
+# HAVE_LRINTF: Use C99 intrinsics to speed up float-to-int conversion
+# restrict: Don't use the 'restrict' optimization (for pre-C99 compilers)
+#CFLAGS += -DHAVE_LRINTF
+CFLAGS += -Drestrict=
+
 ###################### END OF OPTIONS ######################
 
 include silk_sources.mk
 ###################### END OF OPTIONS ######################
 
 include silk_sources.mk