Use B0 instead of B for decisions in quant_band().
authorTimothy B. Terriberry <tterribe@xiph.org>
Tue, 4 Jan 2011 18:26:15 +0000 (10:26 -0800)
committerJean-Marc Valin <jean-marc.valin@usherbrooke.ca>
Sun, 9 Jan 2011 06:09:58 +0000 (01:09 -0500)
commita714994bf8b1c923454d0a97be2ded70a18c7904
tree11d92adce691153d7b7339ee859b6a5507cb2c4a
parent1cb32aa057d356ec4a0d2398e950aface7eaa5ec
Use B0 instead of B for decisions in quant_band().

B contains the number of blocks _after_ splitting.
We were using it to decide a) when to use a uniform PDF instead of a
 triangular one for theta and b) whether to bias the bit allocation
 towards the lower bins.
Using B0 (the number of blocks before the split) instead for a)
 gives a PEAQ gain of 0.003 ODG (as high as 0.1 ODG on s02a samples
 006, 083, and 097) for 240-sample frames at 96kbps mono.
Using B0 instead for b) gives a gain of only 0.00002.
libcelt/bands.c