Move the release version string to version.mk.
authorRalph Giles <giles@mozilla.com>
Thu, 16 Aug 2012 18:39:56 +0000 (11:39 -0700)
committerRalph Giles <giles@mozilla.com>
Thu, 16 Aug 2012 19:42:32 +0000 (12:42 -0700)
commit59c5a82e51b51cc71bd6105a97419f24b8f2d35f
tree33bd49d902f54ac8412e8a945b0e78a6ad11bc9e
parent9322362b1ba88aa1a0216bd7dea3c2fb1e5cdca9
Move the release version string to version.mk.

Previously we defined the release version string in configure.ac,
and overrode that with 'git describe --tags' if possible. This
made it difficult for non-autoconf builds to set their version
string correctly.

Instead we create, and check into version control, a file called
version.mk which defines OPUS_VERSION. The configure script reads
that file and uses it as a fallback if the git revision isn't available.

The expectation is that version.mk will be manually updated for
releases, just as the previous configure.ac version was. However,
since this is a simpler format, it is easier for alternate build
systems to use, reducing the number of places which must be updated.

Also removes the OPUS_MINOR_VERSION, etc. defines from config.h.
Makefile.am
configure.ac
version.mk [new file with mode: 0644]