Replace log2_frac in the delta offset calculation.
authorTimothy B. Terriberry <tterribe@xiph.org>
Thu, 13 Jan 2011 00:34:34 +0000 (16:34 -0800)
committerJean-Marc Valin <jean-marc.valin@usherbrooke.ca>
Thu, 13 Jan 2011 02:21:35 +0000 (21:21 -0500)
commit173774bbf974d208942ea2aa9d7b2e24d0880804
tree96c6290afd0546762b73664bdb45ffb70652f87d
parent2b13401fe6f0059e585b1ea8d1ce2c50cd607212
Replace log2_frac in the delta offset calculation.

Adds a new bitexact_log2tan() function which is much simpler, and
 more accurate.
The new approximation has an RMS error of 0.0038 bits from the
 correctly rounded result over the range of inputs we use, compared
 to an RMS error of 0.013 for the old log2_frac() method.
The actual computation of delta is also changed to use FRAC_MUL16,
 since this allows us to keep the full accuracy of the new method
 while avoiding 16-bit overflow.
The old delta computation actually could overflow 16 bits: it needed
 8 for the log2_frac() result, 1 for the sign of the difference, and
 8 more for N.
libcelt/bands.c