Suggest basic build dependencies in the README.
authorRalph Giles <giles@thaumas.net>
Wed, 10 May 2017 17:37:46 +0000 (10:37 -0700)
committerRalph Giles <giles@thaumas.net>
Wed, 10 May 2017 17:57:33 +0000 (10:57 -0700)
Make it easier for users unfamiliar with C applications
to installed the necessary build dependencies.

Signed-off-by: Gian-Carlo Pascutto <gcp@sjeng.org>
README

diff --git a/README b/README
index ac6264e..20a8059 100644 (file)
--- a/README
+++ b/README
@@ -48,6 +48,24 @@ To build from a distribution tarball, you only need to do the following:
 
 To build from the git repository, the following steps are necessary:
 
+0) Set up a development environment:
+
+On an Ubuntu or Debian family Linux distribution:
+
+% sudo apt-get install git autoconf automake libtool gcc make
+
+On a Fedora/Redhat based Linux:
+
+% sudo dnf install git autoconf automake libtool gcc make
+
+Or for older Redhat/Centos Linux releases:
+
+% sudo yum install git autoconf automake libtool gcc make
+
+On Apple macOS, install Xcode and brew.sh, then in the Terminal enter:
+
+% brew install autoconf automake libtool
+
 1) Clone the repository:
 
 % git clone https://git.xiph.org/opus.git