Mention the possibility of increasing the packetization interval in response to conge...
authorGregory Maxwell <greg@xiph.org>
Fri, 6 Mar 2009 20:15:29 +0000 (15:15 -0500)
committerGregory Maxwell <greg@xiph.org>
Fri, 6 Mar 2009 20:19:37 +0000 (15:19 -0500)
doc/ietf/draft-valin-celt-rtp-profile.xml

index b037050..ab75469 100644 (file)
@@ -84,7 +84,7 @@ CELT stands for "Constrained Energy Lapped Transform". It applies some of the CE
 <t>Support for both voice and music</t>
 <t>Stereo support</t>
 <t>Packet loss concealment</t>
-<t>Constant bitrates from 32 kbps to 128 kbps and above</t>
+<t>Constant bitrates from under 32 kbps to 128 kbps and above</t>
 <t>Free software/open-source</t>
 </list>
 </t>
@@ -665,6 +665,10 @@ range of 96-127.
 CELT allows for bitrate adjustment in one byte per frame
 increments without any signaling requirement or overhead.
 Applications SHOULD utilize congestion control to regulate the transmitted bitrate. 
+In some applications it may make sense to increase the packetization
+interval rather than decreasing the codec bitrate. Congestion control
+implementations should consider the users differential tolerance for high
+latency and low quality. 
 </t>
 </section>