Change strategies for allocation hole prevention.
authorTimothy B. Terriberry <tterribe@xiph.org>
Thu, 16 Dec 2010 04:46:09 +0000 (20:46 -0800)
committerJean-Marc Valin <jean-marc.valin@usherbrooke.ca>
Thu, 16 Dec 2010 16:14:24 +0000 (11:14 -0500)
commit405e6a99e3131a7b6e79065bd2f95870b3333246
treeea269a3eadac2933b3e38fd46ac5a44dcb2e77f4
parent7627b9f660cf51005a61e187307da29de644386e
Change strategies for allocation hole prevention.

In commit ffe10574 JM added a "done" flag to the allocation
 interpolation loop: whenver a band did not have enough bits to
 pass its threshold for receiving PVQ pulses, all of the rest of
 band were given just enough bits for fine energy only.
This patch implements JM's "backwards done" idea: instead work
 backwards, dropping bands until the first band that is over the
 threshold is encountered, and don't artificially reduce the
 allocation any more after that.
This is much more stable: we can continue to signal manual skips if
 we want to, but we aren't forced to skip a large number of bands
 because of an isolated hole in he allocation.

This makes low-bitrate 120-sample frames much less rough.
It also reduces the force skip threshold from
 alloc_floor+(1<<BITRES)+1 to just alloc_floor+(1<<BITRES), because
 the former can now cascade to cause many bands to be skipped.
The difference here is subtle, and increases signaling overhead by
 0.11% of the total bitrate, but Monty confirmed that removing the
 +1 reduces noise in the bass (i.e., in N=1 bands where such a skip
 could cascade).

Finally the 64*C<<BITRES<<LM ceiling is moved into the bisection
 search, instead of just being imposed afterwards, again because I
 wouldn't want to try to explain in a spec why they're different.
libcelt/rate.c