examples/c/decode/file/main.c : Add extra error handling.
authorErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Thu, 20 Nov 2014 10:19:36 +0000 (21:19 +1100)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Thu, 20 Nov 2014 10:46:57 +0000 (21:46 +1100)
Michele Spagnuolo provided a file that initially had frames with two
channels but then had a frame with a single channel. This example
program only supports exactly two channels and previously had
insufficient validation.

Closes: https://sourceforge.net/p/flac/bugs/418/
Reported-by: Michele Spagnuolo,
             Google Security Team <mikispag@google.com>

examples/c/decode/file/main.c

index ff2b145..21056fa 100644 (file)
@@ -125,6 +125,18 @@ FLAC__StreamDecoderWriteStatus write_callback(const FLAC__StreamDecoder *decoder
                fprintf(stderr, "ERROR: this example only supports 16bit stereo streams\n");
                return FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_WRITE_STATUS_ABORT;
        }
+       if(frame->header.channels != 2) {
+               fprintf(stderr, "ERROR: This frame contains %d channels (should be 2)\n", frame->header.channels);
+               return FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_WRITE_STATUS_ABORT;
+       }
+       if(buffer [0] == NULL) {
+               fprintf(stderr, "ERROR: buffer [0] is NULL\n");
+               return FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_WRITE_STATUS_ABORT;
+       }
+       if(buffer [1] == NULL) {
+               fprintf(stderr, "ERROR: buffer [1] is NULL\n");
+               return FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_WRITE_STATUS_ABORT;
+       }
 
        /* write WAVE header before we write the first frame */
        if(frame->header.number.sample_number == 0) {