Fix description of --rice-partition-order in flac -H
authorThomas Zander <thomas.e.zander@googlemail.com>
Sat, 9 Jan 2016 10:27:29 +0000 (11:27 +0100)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Sat, 9 Jan 2016 21:33:52 +0000 (08:33 +1100)
This is more of a "human language versus programmer parlor" issue.
src/flac/main.c will return usage error for an argument greater
than FLAC__MAX_RICE_PARTITION_ORDER (15u).
While in programming "0..16" usually means "from zero to 15", in
natural human-to-human talk, it would rather mean "from zero to 16".
This changes the wording a bit to avoid this misunderstanding.

Closes: http://sourceforge.net/p/flac/bugs/352/
Signed-off-by: Erik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
src/flac/main.c

index f8625af..6e71590 100644 (file)
@@ -1613,9 +1613,9 @@ void show_explain(void)
        printf("                                     encoder decide (the minimun is %u, the\n", FLAC__MIN_QLP_COEFF_PRECISION);
        printf("                                     default is -q 0)\n");
        printf("  -r, --rice-partition-order=[#,]#   Set [min,]max residual partition order\n");
-       printf("                                     (# is 0..16; min defaults to 0; the\n");
-       printf("                                     default is -r 0; above 4 doesn't usually\n");
-       printf("                                     help much)\n");
+       printf("                                     (# is 0 to 15 inclusive; min defaults to 0;\n");
+       printf("                                     the default is -r 0; above 4 does not\n");
+       printf("                                     usually help much)\n");
        printf("format options:\n");
        printf("      --force-raw-format       Force input (when encoding) or output (when\n");
        printf("                               decoding) to be treated as raw samples\n");