stream_encoder.c : Fix an arithmetic overflow in the RICE2 partitioner.
authorErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 08:38:45 +0000 (18:38 +1000)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 09:42:12 +0000 (19:42 +1000)
For a specific 24 bit WAV file provided by Leigh Dyer

    http://lists.xiph.org/pipermail/flac-dev/2013-July/004284.html

encoding with compression level 7 was generating a file a couple of
orders of magintude larger than the original.

Debugging showed that variable abs_residual_partition_sum (a FLAC__uint32)
in function precompute_partition_info_sums_() was suffering from an
arithmetic overflowing on some 24 bit input files although this value
overflowing did not always cause larger output files.

Since the value abs_residual_partition_sum is eventually stored in an
array of FLAC__uint64, it makes sense to make abs_residual_partition_sum
a FLAC__uint64 anyway.

Debugging this problem was made easier by use of the Clang compiler's
-fsanitize=integer option.

src/libFLAC/stream_encoder.c

index 290d038..4045189 100644 (file)
@@ -3784,7 +3784,7 @@ void precompute_partition_info_sums_(
                /* slightly pessimistic but still catches all common cases */
                /* WATCHOUT: "+ bps" is an assumption that the average residual magnitude will not be more than "bps" bits */
                if(FLAC__bitmath_ilog2(default_partition_samples) + bps < 32) {
-                       FLAC__uint32 abs_residual_partition_sum;
+                       FLAC__uint64 abs_residual_partition_sum;
 
                        for(partition = residual_sample = 0; partition < partitions; partition++) {
                                end += default_partition_samples;