macros.h: Make FLAC_CHECK_RETURN print to stderr
authorErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Tue, 19 Jan 2016 07:16:26 +0000 (18:16 +1100)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Tue, 19 Jan 2016 07:20:25 +0000 (18:20 +1100)
Also comment the fact that this macro should only be used for things
that are extremely unlikely to fail.

include/share/macros.h

index 5b9cf4e..eea62c1 100644 (file)
 #include <errno.h>
 
 /* FLAC_CHECK_RETURN : Check the return value of the provided function and
- * print and error message if it fails (ie returns a value < 0).
+ * print an error message if it fails (ie returns a value < 0).
+ *
+ * Ideally, a library should not print anything, but this macro is only used
+ * for things that extremely unlikely to fail, like `chown` to a previoulsy
+ * saved `uid`.
  */
 
 #define FLAC_CHECK_RETURN(x) \
                        {       if ((x) < 0) \
-                                       printf ("%s : %s\n", #x, strerror (errno)) ; \
+                                       fprintf (stderr, "%s : %s\n", #x, strerror (errno)) ; \
                        }