doc: Add notes about subframe sample size
authorRuud van Asseldonk <dev@veniogames.com>
Sun, 11 Jun 2017 11:16:27 +0000 (13:16 +0200)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Mon, 12 Jun 2017 10:09:03 +0000 (20:09 +1000)
doc/html/format.html

index bce3c45..1047092 100644 (file)
                                &lt;3&gt;
                        </td>
                        <td>
-                               Sample size in bits:<br />
+                               Sample size in bits: <a href="#frame_header_notes">[5]</a><br />
                                <ul>
                                <li>
                                        <tt>000</tt> : get from STREAMINFO metadata block
                                <li>
                                        The "UTF-8" coding used for the sample/frame number is the same variable length code used to store compressed UCS-2, extended to handle larger input.
                                </li>
+                               <li>
+                                       For subframes that encode a difference channel,
+                                       the sample size is one bit larger than the sample size of the frame,
+                                       in order to be able to encode the difference between extreme values.
+                               </li>
                                </ol>
                        </td>
                </tr>
                                        <tt>1</tt> : k wasted bits-per-sample in source subblock, k-1 follows, unary coded; e.g. k=3 =&gt; 001 follows, k=7 =&gt; 0000001 follows.
                                </li>
                                </ul>
+                               The size of the samples stored in the subframe is the subframe sample size reduced by k bits.
+                               Decoded samples must be shifted left by k bits.
                        </td>
                </tr>
        </table>