Retune FLAC compression levels
authorMartijn van Beurden <mvanb1@gmail.com>
Mon, 20 Oct 2014 14:33:25 +0000 (16:33 +0200)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Tue, 11 Nov 2014 14:19:23 +0000 (06:19 -0800)
This patch changes a the settings associated with compression
levels 6, 7 and 8. With this patch, -e is no longer used, but
instead apodization functions are added. This should improve
compression with at least 95% of all material while not changing
the speed much. Decoding ways, 6 and 8 stay the same, and 7 is
slowed a bit, which makes it as fast as 8.

Signed-off-by: Erik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
src/libFLAC/stream_encoder.c

index 3103fdf..2af13ac 100644 (file)
@@ -114,9 +114,9 @@ static struct CompressionLevels {
        { false, false,  6, 0, false, false, false, 0, 4, 0, "tukey(5e-1)" },
        { true , true ,  8, 0, false, false, false, 0, 4, 0, "tukey(5e-1)" },
        { true , false,  8, 0, false, false, false, 0, 5, 0, "tukey(5e-1)" },
-       { true , false,  8, 0, false, false, false, 0, 6, 0, "tukey(5e-1)" },
-       { true , false,  8, 0, false, false, true , 0, 6, 0, "tukey(5e-1)" },
-       { true , false, 12, 0, false, false, true , 0, 6, 0, "tukey(5e-1)" }
+       { true , false,  8, 0, false, false, false, 0, 6, 0, "tukey(5e-1);partial_tukey(2)" },
+       { true , false, 12, 0, false, false, false, 0, 6, 0, "tukey(5e-1);partial_tukey(2)" },
+       { true , false, 12, 0, false, false, false, 0, 6, 0, "tukey(5e-1);partial_tukey(2);punchout_tukey(3)" }
        /* here we use locale-independent 5e-1 instead of 0.5 or 0,5 */
 };