Add partial_tukey and punchout_tukey apodization functions
authorMartijn van Beurden <mvanb1@gmail.com>
Sun, 10 Aug 2014 08:59:29 +0000 (10:59 +0200)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Mon, 22 Sep 2014 08:03:24 +0000 (18:03 +1000)
commit29a28338c3c0aaba2e5b074a6e757a6cc3f0959e
tree3188a4bcde8ccf7789cc8fb35fb9fcd31ed3195f
parentffa55423e0cc159b9a84cbde9e59e37921879475
Add partial_tukey and punchout_tukey apodization functions

Adds two new apodization functions that seem to perform better than
the apodization functions currently in the codebase and fixes three
existing windows as well.

Its important to note that this patch only affects the encoder stage
that evaluates various possible predictors. Audio encoded with these
new windows will still decode with existing legacy decoders.

= Theory =
These functions are used to window the  audio data at the predictor
stage. These news functions enable the use of only part of the signal
to generate a predictor. This helps  because short transients can
introduce noise into the predictor. The  predictor becomes very good
at prediciting one part of the  signal, instead of mediocre for the
whole block.

Signed-off-by: Erik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
doc/html/documentation_tools_flac.html
include/FLAC/stream_encoder.h
man/flac.1
man/flac.sgml
src/libFLAC/include/private/window.h
src/libFLAC/include/protected/stream_encoder.h
src/libFLAC/stream_encoder.c
src/libFLAC/window.c